Monday, September 11, 2023

Venice Film Festival 2023 Winners - The Complete List

Venice Film Festival 2023 Winners Poor Things Emma Stone

The winners of the 80th Venice International Film Festival have been revealed. The jury led by Damien Chazelle picked Yorgos Lanthimo's "Poor Things" starring Emma Stone as the winner of the Golden Lion for Best Film. Matteo Garrone won the best director award for his migration drama "Me Captain". Cailee Spaeny won best actress for her portrayal of Priscilla Presley in Sofia Coppola's "Priscilla", while Peter Sarsgaard won best actor for Michel Franco's "Memory", playing a man suffering from dementia. Polish director Agnieszka Holland won a special jury award for "Green Border".

Find out more about the movie after the jump.


Golden Lion for Best Film: “Poor Things,” Yorgos Lanthimos

Grand Jury Prize: “Evil Does Not Exist,” Ryusuke Hamaguchi

Silver Lion for Best Director: “Me Captain,” Matteo Garrone

Special Jury Prize: “Green Border,” Agnieszka Holland

Best Screenplay: “El Conde,” Guillermo Calderón, Pablo Larraín

Volpi Cup for Best Actress: “Priscilla,” Cailee Spaeny

Volpi Cup for Best Actor: “Memory,” Peter Sarsgaard

Marcello Mastroianni Award for Best Young Actor: “Me Captain,” Seydou Sarr


Best Film: “Explanation for Everything,” Gabor Reisz

Best Director: “Paradise is Burning,” Mika Gustafson

Special Jury Prize: “An Endless Sunday,” Alain Parroni

Best Actress: “El Paraiso,” Margarita Rosa De Francisco

Best Actor: “City of Wind,” Tergel Bold-Erdene

Best Screenplay: “El Paraiso,” Enrico Maria Artale

Best Short Film: “A Short Trip,” Erenik Beqiri


Luigi de Laurentiis Award for Best Debut Feature: “Love is a Gun,” Lee Hong-Chi


Audience Award: “Felicita,” Micaela Ramazzotti


Best Documentary on Cinema: “Thank You Very Much,” Alex Braverman

Best Restored Film: “Moving,” Shinji Sōmai


Grand Jury Prize: “Song for a Passerby,” Celine Daemen

Special Jury Prize: “Flow,” Adriaan Lokman

Achievement Prize: “Emperor,” Marion Burger, Ilan Cohen

VENICE DAYS (announced earlier)

GdA Director’s Award: “Humanist Vampire Seeking Consenting Suicidal Person,” Ariane Louis-Seize

Audience Award: “Through the Night,” Delphine Girard

Europa Cinemas Label Award: “Photophobia,” Ivan Ostrochovsky, Pavol Pekarčík

CRITICS’ WEEK (announced earlier)

Grand Prize: “Malqueridas,” Tana Gilbert

Special Mention: Saura Lightfoot Leon in “Hoard” and Ariane Labed in “The Vourdalak,” for their performances

Audience Award: “Hoard,” Luna Carmoon

Verona Film Club Award for Most Innovative Film: “Hoard,” Luna Carmoon

Mario Serandrei – Hotel Saturnia Award for Best Technical Contribution: “Malqueridas,” Tana Gilbert

Best Short Film: “The Lost Memories of Trees,” Antonio Le Camera

Best Director (Short Film): “Ender’s Line,” Gabriele Biasi

Best Technical Contribution (Short Film): “We Should All Be Futurists,” Angela Norelli

COLLATERAL AWARDS (announced earlier)

FIPRESCI Award: “Evil Does Not Exist,” Ryusuke Hamaguchi

FIPRESCI Award for Best Film from Orizzonti and Parallel Sections: “An Endless Sunday,” Alain Parroni

Queer Lion Award: “Housekeeping for Beginners,” Goran Stolevski

ARCA CinemaGiovani Awards

Best Film in Venice: “Green Border,” Agnieszka Holland

Best Italian Film in Venice: “El Praiso,” Enrico Maria Artale

Authors Under 40 Awards

Best Directing and Screenwriting: Luna Carmoon, “Hoard”

Best Screenwriting: Mika Gustafson, “Paradise is Burning”

Special Mention: “Humanist Vampire Seeking Consenting Suicidal Person,” Ariane Louis-Seize, Christine Doyon

Special Mention for Editing: “Malqueridas,” Javira Velozo, Tana Gilbert

Brian Award: “Tatami,” Guy Nattiv, Zar Amir Ebrahimi

Pietro Bianchi Award: Sergio Castellitto

XXXV CICT – UNESCO Enrico Fulchignoni Award: “Me Captain,” Matteo Garrone

Cinema & Arts Awards

Best Films: “Backstage,” Afef Ben Mahmoud, Khalil Benkirane; “Making Of,” Cédric Kahn

Special Mention dedicated to a multidisciplinary artist: Chong Keat Aun, “Snow in Midsummer”

Premio CinemaSarà: “Green Border,” Agnieszka Holland

Special Mention: “Evil Does Not Exist,” Ryusuke Hamaguchi

Civitas Award: “Me Captain,” Matteo Garrone

Edipo Re Award: “Me Captain,” Matteo Garrone

Ca’ Foscari Young Jury Award: “Evil Does Not Exist,” Ryusuke Hamaguchi

Premio Fondazione Fai Persona Lavoro Ambiente: “Evil Does Not Exist,” Ryusuke Hamaguchi

Special Mention for treatment of issues related to environment): “Housekeeping for Beginners,” Goran Stolevski

Special Mention for treatment of issues related to work): “Making Of,” Cédric Kahn; “The Red Suitcase,” Fidel Devkota

Fanheart3 Awards

Graffetta d’Oro for Best Film: “Dogman,” Luc Besson

Nave d’Argento for Best OTP: to the characters Sasha and Paul in “Humanist Vampire Seeking Consenting Suicidal Person,” Ariane Louis-Seize

XR Fan Experience: “Gargoyle Doyle,” Ethan Shaftel

XR Special Mention: “Pixel Ripped 1978,” Ana Ribeiro

Federazione Italiana dei Cineclub Awards

Best Film: “Me Captain,” Matteo Garrone

Special Mention: “Anna,” Marco Amenta

Special Mention Best Short Film: “We Should All Be Futurists,” Angela Norelli

Jury Special Prize: “Passione Critica,” Simone Isola, Franco Montini, Patrizia Pistagnesi

Francesco Pasinetti Award: “Me Captain,” Matteo Garrone

Green Drop Award: “Green Border,” Agnieszka Holland; “Me Captain,” Matteo Garrone

Special Mention: “Materia Viva,” Stefania Vialetto, Marco Falorni, Andrea Frassoni

ImpACT Award: “Me Captain,” Matteo Garrone

Lanterna Magica Award: “Me Captain,” Matteo Garrone

UNICEF Leoncino d’Oro Award: “Me Captain,” Matteo Garrone

Cinema for UNICEF: “Green Border,” Agnieszka Holland

Lizzani Award: “Invelle,” Simone Massi

Nuovoimaie Talent Awards

Best New Young Actor: Gianmarco Franchini, “Adagio”

Best New Young Actress: Sara Ciocca, “Nina dei Lupi”

La Pellicola d’Oro Awards

Best Production Director: Claudia Cravotta, “Me Captain”

Best Camera Operator: Massimiliano Kuveiller, “Finally Dawn”

Best Set Designer: Simona Balducci, “Comandante”

Robert Bresson Award: Mario Martone

SIGNIS Award: “Me Captain,” Matteo Garrone

Special Mention: “The Promised Land,” Nikolaj Arcel

Sorriso Diverso Venezia Awards

Best Italian Film: “The Penitent – A Rational Man,” Luca Barbareschi

Best Foreign Film: “Green Border,” Agnieszka Holland

Premio Soundtrack Stars Award

Best Soundtrack: “Me Captain,” Andrea Farri

Special Mention: “The Killer,” Trent Reznor and Atticus Ross

Special Prize: “Adagio,” Subsonica

Special Prize: Levante for the song “Leggera” in “Romantiche”

Mediterranean University Union Awards

Best Film: “Poor Things,” Yorgos Lanthimos

Prize for Cultural Diversity: “Green Border,” Agnieszka Holland


No comments:

Post a Comment

Please keep the comments as civilised as possible, and refrain from spamming. All comments will be moderated. Thank you !