Monday, May 27, 2019

Cannes Film Festival 2019 Awards: PARASITE Wins Palme D'Or

Parasite Movie

The 72nd edition of the Cannes Film Festival is now over, and the coveted Palme d'Or has been awarded to the South Korean satire "Parasite" from acclaimed filmmaker Bong Joon-ho. The decision was unanimous by this year's jury, which was presided by Oscar-winning filmmaker Alejandro Gonzalez Inarritu, and it is the first time in the history of the festival that a South Korean movie receives the Palme d'Or. It's also the second year in a row that the award has gone to an Asian film, after Hirokazu Kore-eda's "Shoplifters" earned the top honor last year.

Inarritu explained the love for "Parasite" at the post-ceremony press conference:
"We all shared the mystery of the unexpected way this film took us through different genres and spoke in a funny, humorous, tender way — with no judgment — of something so relevant and urgent, so global in such a local film, with such a beautiful efficiency of media, and an understanding of what film really is. We were all fascinated when we saw it, and it kept growing and growing: that’s why it was a unanimous decision.".

The Grand Prix award went to French-Senegalese filmmaker Mati Diop for her debut film "Atlantics". Diop is the first black woman director ever to participate in the Cannes competition.

Antonio Banderas won best actor for his performance in Pedro Almodovar's semi-autobiographical "Pain and Glory", while best actress went to British star Emily Beecham for her role in Jessica Hausner's critically divisive sci-fi film "Little Joe".

The Jury Prize was shared by both Ladj Ly's drama "Les Miserables" and Juliano Dornelles and Kleber Mendonça Filho's weird western "Bacurau".

Two-time Palme d'Or winners Jean-Pierre and Luc Dardenne took home the award for best director for the disturbing teen drama "Young Ahmed". The screenplay award went to French writer-director Celine Sciamma for the lesbian-themed period film "Portrait of a Lady on Fire".

Read the complete list of 2019 Cannes Film Festival awards after the jump


Palme d’Or: “Parasite,” Bong Joon-ho

Grand Prix: “Atlantics,” Mati Diop

Director: Jean-Pierre and Luc Dardenne, “Young Ahmed”

Actor: Antonio Banderas, “Pain and Glory”

Actress: Emily Beecham, “Little Joe”

Jury Prize — TIE: “Les Misérables,” Ladj Ly; “Bacurau,” Kleber Mendonça Filho and Juliano Dornelles

Screenplay: Céline Sciamma, “Portrait of a Lady on Fire”

Special Mention: “It Must Be Heaven,” Elia Suleiman


Camera d’Or: “Our Mothers,” Cesar Diaz

Short Films Palme d’Or: “The Distance Between the Sky and Us,” Vasilis Kekatos

Short Films Special Mention: “Monster God,” Agustina San Martin

Golden Eye Documentary Prize: “For Sama”

Ecumenical Jury Prize: “Hidden Life,” Terrence Malick

Queer Palm: “Portrait of a Lady on Fire,” Céline Sciamma


Un Certain Regard Award: “The Invisible Life of Eurídice Gusmão,” Karim Aïnouz

Jury Prize: “Fire Will Come,” Oliver Laxe

Best Director: Kantemir Balagov, “Beanpole”

Best Performance: Chiara Mastroianni, “On a Magical Night”

Special Jury Prize: Albert Serra, “Liberté”

Special Jury Mention: “Joan of Arc,” Bruno Dumont

Coup de Coeur Award: “A Brother’s Love,” Monia Chokri; “The Climb,” Michael Angelo Covino


Society of Dramatic Authors and Composers Prize: “An Easy Girl,” Rebecca Zlotowski

Europa Cinemas Label: “Alice and the Mayor,” Nicolas Parisier

Illy Short Film Award: “Stay Awake, Be Ready,” An Pham Thien


Nespresso Grand Prize: “I Lost My Body,” Jérémy Clapin

Society of Dramatic Authors and Composers Prize: César Díaz, “Our Mothers”

GAN Foundation Award for Distribution: The Jokers Films, French distributor for “Vivarium” by Lorcan Finnegan

Louis Roederer Foundation Rising Star Award: Ingvar E. Sigurðsson, “A White, White Day”

Leitz Cine Discovery Prize for Short Film: “She Runs,” Qiu Yang

Canal Plus Award for Short Film: “Ikki Illa Meint,” Andrias Høgenni


Competition: “It Must Be Heaven” (Elia Suleiman)

Un Certain Regard: “Beanpole” (Kantemir Balagov)

Directors’ Fortnight/Critics’ Week: “The Lighthouse” (Robert Eggers)


First Prize: “Mano a Mano,” Louise Courvoisier

Second Prize: “Hiéu,” Richard Van

Third Prize — TIE: “Ambience,” Wisam Al Jafari; “Duszyczka” (The Little Soul), Barbara Rupik


No comments:

Post a Comment

Please keep the comments as civilized as possible, and refrain from spamming. All comments will be moderated. Thank you !