Monday, May 26, 2014

WINTER SLEEP Wins the Palme d’Or at the Cannes Film Festival

winter sleep winner of 2014 palme d'or

The Cannes Film Festival winners have been announced. The jury led by Jane Campion ("The Piano") awarded the Palme d'Or to turkish director Nuri Bilge Ceylan for his drama "Winter Sleep" ("Kis Uykusu"). This is only the second time a Turkish director has won top honors, after Yilmaz Guney and Serif Goren won for "The Way" in 1982. Nuri Bilge Ceylan has been previously nominated four times for the Palme d'Or. The directing prize was bestowed on Bennett Miller for the drama "Foxcatcher" starring Steve Carell and Channing Tatum. Julianne Moore won the best actress award for David Cronenberg's "Maps to the Stars", while Timothy Spall earned the best actor prize for Mike Leigh's "Mr. Turner".

Here is the full list of winners:

Palme d’Or: Winter Sleep by Nuri Bilge Ceylan

Grand Prize: Alice Rohrwacher by Le Meraviglie

Best Male Performance: Timothy Spall in Mr. Turner by Mike Leigh

Best Female Performance: Julianne Moore in Maps to the Stars by David Cronenberg

Best Director: Bennett Miller for Foxcatcher

Best Screenplay: Leviathan by Andreï Zviaguintsev

Jury Award: Mommy by Xavier Dolan and Goodbye to Language by Jean-Luc Godard (tie)

Caméra d’Or: Party Girl