Monday, February 3, 2014

2014 Writers Guild of America Award Winners

wga winners captain phillips and her

The Writers Guild of America Awards winners have been announced. In the film categories, the award for Best Original Screenplay went to Spike Jonze for "Her", Billy Ray won Best Adapted Screenplay for "Captain Phillips" and Best Documentary Screenplay was awarded to Sarah Polley for "Stories We Tell". As far as predictions for the Oscars go, the WGA have a high prediction factor and have accurately indicated Oscar winners in the past, but it should be taken into account that in the Best Adapted Screenplay category, the WGA ruled that "12 Years a Slave" wasn't eligible. Considering how "12 Years a Slave" is a strong contender at the Oscars, and it has been nominated for Adapted Screenplay, it's still the favorite to win. In television, the big winners were "Veep", "Breaking Bad" and "House of Cards".

Read the full list of winners after the jump:

Best Original Screenplay: Spike Jonze, "Her"

Best Adapted Screenplay: Billy Ray, "Captain Phillips"

Best Documentary Screenplay: Sarah Polley, "Stories We Tell"


Comedy Series: "Veep"

Drama Series: "Breaking Bad"

New Series: "House of Cards"

Episodic Comedy: Kack Burditt and Robert Carlock, "30 Rock" ("Hogcock!")

Episodic Drama: Gennifer Hutchison, "Breaking Bad" ("Confessions")

Long Form - Adapted: Shawn Slovo, "Muhammad Ali's Greatest Fight"

Animation: Joel H. Cohen, "The Simpsons" ("A Test Before Trying")

Comedy or Variety Series: "The Colbert Report"

Comedy or Variety Specials: "Blake Shelton's Not So Family Christmas"

Daytime Drama: "Days of Our Lives"

Childrens - Episodic & Specials: Vincent Brown, "A.N.T. Farm" ("InfluANTces")

Documentary - Current Events: Marcela Gaviria and Martin Smith, "Frontline" ("Egypt in Crisis")

Documentary - Other Than Current Events: Randall MacLowry and Michelle Ferrari, "American Experience" ("Silicon Valley")

News - Analysis, Feature or Commentary: Michael Rey, Oriana Zill de Granados and Michael Radutzky, "60 Minutes" ("Lethal Medicine")

News - Regularly Scheduled, Bulletin or Breaking Report: Lisa Ferri and Matt Negrin, "ABC World News with Diane Sawyer" ("Tragedy at Newtown")

Quiz and Audience Patricipation: John Duarte, Harry Friedman, Mark Gaberman, Debbie Griffin, Michele Loud, Robert McClenaghan, Jim Rhine, Steve D. Tamerius and Billy Wisse, "Jeopardy!"

Television Graphic Art and Animation: David Rosen, CBS News Animations: “Brain Injury,” “Pills,” “Bionic Leg,” “Midland Parade,” “Concordia Salvage”

Promotional Writing and Graphic Animation: Erial Tompkins, “The Crazy Ones – Building a Better Comedy"

Video Game Writing: Neil Druckmann, "The Last of Us"

Laurel Award for Screenwriting Achievement: Paul Mazursky

Evelyn F. Burkey Award for Career Achievement: James Schamus

Valentine Davies Award: Sam Simon


No comments:

Post a Comment

Please keep the comments as civilised as possible, and refrain from spamming. All comments will be moderated. Thank you !