Tuesday, January 10, 2017

2017 Producers Guild Awards Nominations Announced


The Producers Guild of America have announced their nominations for the best Theatrical, Animated and Documentary Motion Pictures of 2016. We have some of the usual suspects, like "La La Land", "Arrival", "Manchester by the Sea" and "Moonlight", but also one of the biggest surprises in the history of the awards, "Deadpool".

This is a huge precedent for this particular guild, because in the past, highly acclaimed comic book movies like "Guardians of the Galaxy" and "The Dark Knight", which received nominations from the Writers and Directors Guild, were passed over by the Producers Guild. I might be wrong, but I do believe this is the first time ever that the PGA has nominated a superhero comic book movie.

Meanwhile, Martin Scorsese's "Silence" continues the snub streak. Same goes for Clint Eastwood's "Sully". I think we can just rule out any kind of Oscar nomination for these two films.

Read the complete list of nominations after the jump.

The Darryl F. Zanuck Award for Outstanding Producer of Theatrical Motion Pictures:

Producers: Dan Levine, Shawn Levy, Aaron Ryder, David Linde

Producers: Simon Kinberg, Ryan Reynolds, Lauren Shuler Donner

Producers: Scott Rudin, Denzel Washington, Todd Black

Hacksaw Ridge
Producers: Bill Mechanic, David Permut

Hell or High Water
Producers: Carla Hacken, Julie Yorn

Hidden Figures
Producers: Donna Gigliotti, Peter Chernin & Jenno Topping, Pharrell Williams, Theodore Melfi

La La Land
Producers: Fred Berger, Jordan Horowitz, Marc Platt

Producers: Emile Sherman & Iain Canning, Angie Fielder

Manchester By the Sea
Producers: Matt Damon, Kimberly Steward, Chris Moore, Lauren Beck, Kevin Walsh

Producers: Adele Romanski, Dede Gardner & Jeremy Kleiner

The Award for Outstanding Producer of Animated Theatrical Motion Pictures:

Finding Dory
Producer: Lindsey Collins

Kubo and the Two Strings
Producers: Arianne Sutner, Travis Knight

Producer: Osnat Shurer

The Secret Life of Pets
Producers: Chris Meledandri, Janet Healy

Producer: Clark Spencer

The Award for Outstanding Producer of Documentary Theatrical Motion Pictures:

Producer: Gabrielle Tana

The Eagle Huntress
Producers: Stacey Reiss, Otto Bell

Life, Animated
Producers: Julie Goldman, Roger Ross Williams

O.J.: Made in America
Producers: Ezra Edelman, Caroline Waterlow

Producers: Keith Maitland, Susan Thomson, Megan Gilbride


No comments:

Post a Comment

Please keep the comments as civilised as possible, and refrain from spamming. All comments will be moderated. Thank you !