Sunday, February 3, 2013

Ben Affleck Wins Directors Guild Award for ARGO

"Argo" scored another big win last night when Ben Affleck won the DGA's Best Director award. This marks the third major Guild win for Affleck's true story drama, which already won top honors at the Screen Actors Guild and the Producers Guild. Now the film has the Oscars in its sights, although Ben Affleck was not nominated for the Director award by the Academy, which might be an indication that "Argo" may also lose the Best Picture race. Historically, many have begun citing the "Apollo 13" precedent. The 1995 film had won awards from all three Guilds, but Ron Howard was denied the Best Director nomination at the Oscars and eventually "Braveheart" took home Best Picture. It's quite an interesting precedent, but I still think all is not lost for Affleck's film. History doesn't have to repeat itself. Or does it ? Maybe I need to watch "Looper" again. Here are the winners at the 2013 Directors Guild Awards:

  • Best Feature Film – Ben Affleck, Argo
  • Best Documentary Feature – Malik Bendjelloul, Searching for Sugar Man
  • Best Drama Series – Rian Johnson, Breaking Bad (“Fifty-One”)
  • Best Comedy Series – Lena Dunham, Girls (“Pilot”)
  • Best TV Miniseries – Jay Roach, Game Change
  • Best Reality Series – Brian Smith, Master Chef


No comments:

Post a Comment

Please keep the comments as civilised as possible, and refrain from spamming. All comments will be moderated. Thank you !