Monday, February 11, 2013

BAFTA Winners Announced; ARGO Wins Best Film and Director

Ben Affleck's Argo Wins Big at the 2013 BAFTAs

"Argo" was last night's big winner at the BAFTAs. The British Academy of Film and Television Arts handed out three awards to the true story drama: Best Film, Director (Ben Affleck) and Editing. Lead acting awards went to Daniel Day-Lewis for his commanding performance in Spielberg's "Lincoln" and Emmanuelle Riva for Michael Haneke's "Amour". Supporting honors went to Christoph Waltz for his performance in Tarantino's "Django Unchained" and Anne Hathaway for "Les Miserables". Quentin Tarantino picked up an award for Best Original Screenplay, while the Adapted Screenplay trophy went to David O. Russell for "Silver Linings Playbook".

Check out the full list of winners after the jump.

Best Film: Argo
Best Director: Ben Affleck, Argo
Best Actor: Daniel Day-Lewis, Lincoln
Best Actress: Emmanuelle Riva, Amour
Best Supporting Actor: Christoph Waltz, Django Unchained
Best Supporting Actress: Anne Hathaway, Les Misérables
Best Original Screenplay: Django Unchained
Best Adapted Screenplay: Silver Linings Playbook
Best British Film: Skyfall
Best Film Not in the English Language: Amour
Best Animated Film: Brave
Best Documentary: Searching for Sugar Man
Best Editing: William Goldenberg, Argo
Best Costume Design: Jacqueline Durran, Anna Karenina
Best Cinematography: Claudio Miranda, Life of Pi
Best Original Music: Thomas Newman, Skyfall
Best Make-Up & Hair: Lisa Wescott, Les Misérables
Best Visual Effects: Bill Westenhofer, Guillaume Rocheron, Erik-Jan De Boer, Donald R. Elliott, Life of Pi
Best Production Design: Eve Stewart, Anna Lynch-Robinson, Les Misérables
Best Sound: Simon Hayes, Andy Nelson, Mark Paterson, Jonathan Allen, Lee Walpole, John Warhurst, Les Misérables
Best British Debut: Bart Layton and Dimitri Doganis, The Imposter
Orange Rising Star Award: Juno Temple
Best Animated Short: The Making of Longbird
Best Live-Action Short: Swimmer


No comments:

Post a Comment

Please keep the comments as civilised as possible, and refrain from spamming. All comments will be moderated. Thank you !